Finish list 2012

It’s the last Friday of 2011 and my first Finish it Friday.

On Fridays I’m going to post an update on what I’m working toward finishing. Goals should be S.M.A.R.T.: Specific, Measurable, Attainable, Realistic, and Timely

So here goes:

  1. I’m going to finish those quilt squares. Not high on my want-to list, but on the top of my making me feel guilty list. So I’m knocking those out. I’ve all but quit watching TV for lack of time, so I don’t have a lot of “I might as well be doing something with my hands” time. So I need to schedule some time in my evenings. I’d like them all done by the end of March. That’s nuts. How about the end of April.
  2. I’m going to “finish” getting my house decluttered and organized. This is obviously never “done,” but I’d like to be in the “maintain” phase, instead of the “various piles and stacks about the house” phase. Baby stuff be-gone! Items from abandoned projects are out of here! Items need to be donated, consigned, or sold at a yard sale. Need to make a decision about a yard sale. If we don’t do a yard sale by the end of April, what’s not consigned is going to the Oliver Gospel Mission store. How’s that for a non-committal goal.
  3. I want to finish a Beth Moore Bible study. I’m a great study starter, but once again, not a good finisher. I’m thinking the new James study. I’m teaching GAs on Wednesday nights this semester, so I’ll be doing it myself, at my own pace, which might not be a bad idea. Giving myself until the end of March on this one.
  4. I’ve got a list of things I’d like to learn this year: crochet and/or knitting, Photoshop and/or Illustrator (for work.) I’ll give myself until the end of the year to be proficient at Photoshop and one of the two things with yarn.
  5. I want to finish 4 projects with the sewing machine. One per quarter of the year.
  6. I want to paint the kids’ bathroom. Cause it’s my least favorite of all the rooms in this house. It’s dark and dreary and I really really really hate it. It’s small and aside from the painting around and behind things part, it shouldn’t be too difficult to actually do. I have dreamed of hand painting something cute. So: something cute on the walls in there by the end of the summer.
  7. Get back on the Financial Peace wagon. We’ve got the head knowledge. We’ve got to get the discipline part. The “finish” here is “not quitting.” I want to finish 2012 in a better financial place than where we are starting.
  8. Finish the 90 day Bible reading plan I quit last year (somewhere in the middle of Jeremiah.)
One thought on “Finish list 2012

  1. Pingback: The Fair Has Rides

Leave a Reply

